Mastercraft Roofing LLC - Articles

Advance Roofing Techniques Old Fashioned Quality

Friday, 17 July 2015 / Published in Blog Post

HAAG Roof Inspector Certification

As a Haag Certified Inspector of Residential Roofs Tony Byrant is highly proficient with all major types of residential (steep-slope) roofs. Tony has comprehensive understanding of manufacture, installation, weathering, hail damage, wind damage, maintenance, mechanical damage, and repair costs for each major roofing type — composition, wood shingle/shake, concrete and clay tile, asbestos, fiber cement, and various synthetic, slate, and metal roofing types.

Sunday, 20 April 2014 / Published in Blog Post
Tuesday, 25 February 2014 / Published in Blog Post

This info is from the Consumer Bill of Rights page, on the Texas Dept of Insurance website.

USE OF CLAIMS HISTORY TO NONRENEW. Your insurance company cannot use claims you filed as a basis to non-renew your policy unless:

  •  you file three or more claims in any 3-year period; and
  •  your insurer notified you in writing after the second claim that filing a third claim could result in non-renewal of your policy.

In determining the number of claims filed, your insurance company cannot include:

  •  claims for damage from natural causes, including weather-related damage;
  •  appliance-related claims where the repairs have been inspected and certified; or
  •  claims filed but not paid or payable under the policy.

NOTE:  An insurance company can count appliance-related claims if 3 or more such claims are filed and paid within a 3-year period.

28. SETTLEMENT OFFER. You have the right to reject any settlement amount, including any unfair valuation, offered by the insurance company. You have the right to have your home repaired by the repair person of your choice.

29. EXPLANATION OF CLAIM DENIAL.  Your insurance company must tell you in writing why your claim or part of your claim was denied.

Wednesday, 19 February 2014 / Published in Blog Post
Here’s a little info about how adjusters assess hail damage. A “square” is 10 ft x 10 ft.  If a house has 3,000 sq ft of roof area, roof professionals call it 30 squares. To assess hail damage we draw a 10 x 10 ft square on each slope. We call that a test square.  We count the hail hits in that square, then multiply that number, times the squares on that slope.Counting every hit on every slope would be too time consuming.

 In 1989 when I started selling roofs, most insurance companies required 3 hits in a test square to total a roof. It went to 6 around 1995.(After hurricane Andrew in Florida, and the Northridge Earthquake in California.)

Currently,most insurance companies require 8 hits in a test square to total a roof. Allstate requires 10.

Copyright © 2017 Mastercraftroofing